

Pulaski County Election Commission Meeting Minutes January 2, 2020 5:00 p.m.

Members Present:

Evelyn D. Gomez Joshua A. Price Kristi McKinnon

Staff Present:

Bryan Poe Betty Green Amanda Dickens Shawn Camp

Visitors Present: Terri Hollingsworth, Circuit County Clerk; Kat Stromquist, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette; Jason Kennedy, Circuit County Clerk Office; Cherie Abston, Circuit County Clerk Office; Marc Harrison, Circuit County Clerk Office; Dr. Anika Whitfield

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 p.m. by Chair Gomez. A quorum was present, with all commissioners in attendance.

The pledge of allegiance was led by Amanda Dickens.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Commissioner McKinnon moved to accept the minutes as written; seconded by Commissioner Price. Motion passed by voice vote.

Business

Polling Location Change Orders

Commissioner Price moved to accept the polling location changes for Precinct 60 currently at Highland Valley United Methodist Church to be moved to St. Margaret's Episcopal Church; Precinct 80 which is currently at Henderson United Methodist Church to be moved to Oley E. Rooker Library; Precinct 114 currently at Arkansas Arts Museum to be moved to Historic Arkansas Museum; Precinct 106/107 which is currently at Little Rock Fire Station #10 to be moved to Calvary Baptist Church in the Heights; seconded by Commissioner McKinnon. Motion passed by voice vote.

Designation of Polling Locations for the March 3, 2020 Preferential/Nonpartisan Primary Election

Commissioner McKinnon moved to approve the polling locations for the March 3, 2020 Preferential/Nonpartisan Primary Election; seconded by Commissioner Price. Motion passed by voice vote. Commissioner Price reiterated that public service announcements via print, radio, television, street signage and door signage reflecting the changes regarding the polling locations. Chair Gomez requested that when there are documents that contain multiple pages for the page numbers to appear on the bottom of the pages.

Certification of Ballot Styles for the March 3, 2020 Preferential/Nonpartisan Primary Election

Circuit County Clerk Terri Hollingsworth asked for clarification regarding the reviewing of ballot styles. Director Poe explained the process that the staff takes regarding reviewing the ballot styles. There are 537 ballot styles for the March 3, 2020 Preferential Primary Election. The millage proposals for Jacksonville North Pulaski School District and East End School District were read for the record. Commissioner Price moved to certify the ballot styles for the March 3, 2020 Preferential/Nonpartisan Primary Election; seconded by Commissioner McKinnon. Motion passed by voice vote. Commissioner Price thanked the staff for all their hard work in preparing the ballots for the election.

Approval of Notice of Election for the March 3, 2020 Preferential/Nonpartisan Primary Election

Commissioner McKinnon moved to approve the notice of election for the March 3, 2020 Preferential/Nonpartisan Primary Election with a stylistic change to follow for the Annual School Election; seconded by Commissioner Price. Motion passed by voice vote.

Other Business

Financial Disclosures for Commissioners

The deadline for the Commissioners to submit the 2020 financial disclosures is January 31, 2020. Commissioner McKinnon asked Director Poe to find out if the Commissioners need to fill out a separate statement of financial interest.

Poll Worker Brochures

Commissioner Price moved to approve the new poll worker brochures; seconded by Commissioner McKinnon. Motion passed by voice vote.

Schedule of Upcoming Meetings

January 14, 2020 at 9:00 p.m. to canvass absentee ballots and certify the unofficial election results for the House District 34 Special Primary Election.

January 16, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. for the preliminary review of provisional ballots for the January 14, 2020 House District 34 Special Primary Election.

January 24, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. for the provisional ballot hearing and certification of the January 14, 2020 Special Primary Election.

February 11, 2020, time not set, for the House District 34 special primary election runoff if necessary.

Meeting adjourned at 5:46 p.m.